CRSP Boards

Board of Directors

The Center for Research in Security Prices is governed by a five-person board comprised of members from the University of Chicago and the Booth School of Business.

  • John C. Heaton, Joseph L. Gidwitz Professor of Finance
  • Lubos Pastor, Charles P. McQuaid Professor of Finance
  • Madhav Rajan, Dean of the Booth School of Business and George Pratt Shultz Professor of Accounting 
  • Kim Taylor, Vice President and General Counsel 
  • Andy Ward, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer

Advisory Board 

The Advisory Board consists of distinguished members of the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business. Each Director is a renowned professor, researcher, and author.

Douglas W. Diamond

Merton H. Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance, Douglas Diamond holds a bachelor's degree in economics from Brown University, and a M.A., M. Phil., and Ph.D. in economics from Yale University. He also serves on the Board of Directors of the American Finance Association. Professor Diamond has also served as president of the Western Finance Association, and as an academic consultant to the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond and the Federal Reserve Board.  He is an authority on financial crises, financial intermediaries, and banking regulation.

John Heaton

Joseph L. Gidwitz Professor of Finance, John Heaton holds a bachelor's degree in communications from the University of Windsor, a M.A. in economics from the University of Western Ontario, and a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Chicago. Professor Heaton is an authority on asset pricing, portfolio allocation, and time-series econometrics.

Lubos Pastor

Lubos Pastor serves as co-director of the Fama-Miller Center for Research in Finance and a member of the CRSP Indexes Advisory Council. Outside Chicago Booth, he is a member of the Bank Board of the National Bank of Slovakia, Director of the American Finance Association, Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and Research Fellow at the Centre for Economic Policy and Research. He has served as President of the Western Finance Association. He is an Associate Editor of the Journal of Financial Economics and a former Associate Editor of the Journal of Finance and the Review of Financial Studies.

Lubos obtained a Ph.D. in finance from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. He has received the McKinsey Award for Excellence in Teaching as well as two Faculty Excellence Awards at Chicago Booth. 

Stefan Nagel

Professor Nagel’s research focuses on asset pricing, investor behavior, and risk-taking of financial intermediaries. His most recent work explores the role of personal experiences in shaping expectations about the macroeconomy and financial market returns, novel approaches for measurement of bank tail risk exposures, and the application of machine learning techniques to understand the risk and return of investment strategies in the stock market. Nagel has won various awards for his research, among them the Smith-Breeden Prize of the American Finance Association for the best paper in the Journal of Finance in 2004 and the Fama/DFA prize for the best asset pricing paper in the Journal of Financial Economics in 2006 (first prize) and 2010 (second prize).

Professor Nagel currently serves as the Executive Editor of the Journal of Finance, one of the leading academic finance journals in the world. Previously, he was an editor at the Review of Financial Studies from 2014-2015 and an associate editor at various top journals. He is also a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research (Cambridge, MA) and a research fellow at the Centre for Economic Policy Research (London, UK) and CESifo (Munich, Germany).